December 30, 2013

Skillet Bacon Cornbread & Crock-Pot White Beans & Ham {Recipes}


Skillet Bacon Cornbread. Yep, you heard read that correctly (um, hello, bacon).

Paired with White Beans and Ham, cooked in my crock-pot? Off the charts delicious.

(No really, it's that good!)

I know I've been MIA the last 2 weeks, and for that, I'm sorry. But, I got so swept up in Christmas excitement, that I simply ran out of time to share all the good stuff with you guys. If you follow me on Instagram, you probably saw some of my festivities. (PS. If I disappear again, check instie. I'm probably over there).

Among the Christmas festivities was our annual community group Christmas party. This was the 5th annual such event and it's been at my house for 4 of those years. It's kinda a tradition. At this particular Christmas party, we shoot for a kid-free, sit down dinner. Thanks to some childcare arranging, we pulled it off beautifully this year. Ham was served. Sweet potatoes were eaten. Veggies, enjoyed. Glasses clinked gayly. Get the idea? It was a regular good time! And, afterward, I was left with a perfect ham bone, in which to make a perfect pot of beans. In my crock-pot, for convenience sake.


These beans were paired with an easy and delicious skillet bacon cornbread from H-E-B. Growing up, we always had beans on New Years' Day. It just seems to be the perfect wintry meal, amiright?

Crock-Pot White Beans and Ham

16 oz Dried Northern White Beans
Ham Bone (mine was from a 9 lb ham)
4 C Chicken Stock
2 C Water
1 Bay Leaf
2 Cloves of Garlic, minced
1 Small White Onion, diced
1 t. Black Pepper (or more/less to taste)
1 t. Salt (or more/less to taste)

Step 1: Prepare beans by sorting and rinsing. Then soak them overnight, according to the package directions.
Step 2: Drain and rinse beans and place in the crock pot with remaining ingredients.
Step 3: Cook on high for 4 hours or on low for 8 hours, until beans are tender. Remove ham bone and meat. Discard bones and shred ham. Return ham to crockpot
Step 4: If too much liquid remains, remove some of it with a small cup.
Step 5: Serve beans warm with Skillet Bacon Cornbread**


So easy and so very tasty. My hubby could eat beans for every meal. I'm not kidding. Each time I make a pot of beans, he asks why I don't make them more often. My daughter is fond of them too, actually. So, yeah, this dish is always a hit in my home :)

To get the Skillet Bacon Cornbread recipe, head on over to the H-E-B site. By using an oven-proof skillet (like my iron skillet), this dish goes from the stovetop (for the bacon cookin') to the oven (for the cornbread bakin'). Easy-peasy.


I'm not even lying, when my three-year-old bit into this bacon-flecked cornbread she said "Mmmmm...bacon. Delish".

Ha! What a...ham ;).

***I partnered with H-E-B to share these yummy recipes. But, opinions and stories are (clearly) my own.

Photobucket

Like what you see? Follow 52 Mantels!

52 Mantels
52 Mantels
52 Mantels
52 Mantels
52 Mantels

I link up here and here!


17 comments:

  1. Perfect combo! I want some. Send me some leftovers with Merr.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Ηello, just wanted tο tеll you, I enjoyed thіs post.
    It wwas helpful. Ҝeep on posting!

    Hеre is mу wbsite ... chriengough.evenweb.com/

    ReplyDelete
  3. Yesterday I just received my green hulk toys from your hong kong
    website. Namely: a 3rd party as soon as the receipt of full payment buyer will notify
    the vendor shipped. I have a very large amount of friends in Canada
    visit purchase about this site.

    My site; aliexpress

    ReplyDelete
  4. louis vuitton bags
    Greetings! Very helpful advice in this particular post!
    It's the little changes that produce the most important changes.
    Many thanks for sharing!

    ReplyDelete
  5. Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

    Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

    Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

    Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.us.com

    Toms Shoes http://www.toms-shoes.name

    Hermes Belts http://www.hermesbelts.us.org

    Louis Vuitton http://www.louisvuitton-outletstores.us.com

    Fendi Handbags http://www.fendibelt.us.com

    Giuseppe Shoes http://www.giuseppezanotti.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-kors-outlet.us.com

    Stephen Curry Shoes http://www.stephencurryshoes.us.com

    Salomon Shoes http://www.salomonshoes.eu.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.us.com

    Burberry Outlet http://www.burberryoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.north-faceoutlets.in.net

    North Face Jackets http://www.outletnorthface.in.net

    Skechers Shoes http://www.skechersshoes.us.com

    Toms Outlethttp://www.tomsoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.us.org

    Nike Air Max http://www.nikeoutlet.us.org

    Nike Hoodies http://www.nikehoodies.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://www.marcjacobshandbags.name

    Marc Jacobs Outlet http://www.marcjacobsoutletstore.us.com

    Jimmy Choo Shoes http://www.jimmy-chooshoes.us.com

    Jimmy Choos http://www.jimmychoos.in.net

    Burberry Belt http://www.burberrybelt.us.com

    Louis Vuitton Belt http://www.louisvuitton-belt.com

    Salvatore Ferragamo http://www.ferragamo-belt.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://marcjacobshandbagsoutlet.blog.com

    Lululemon Outlet http://www.lululemonsoutlet.us.com

    True Religion Outlet http://www.truereligion-outlets.in.net

    Tommy Hilfiger http://www.tommyhilfigeroutlet.us.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.outletmichaelkors.eu.com

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.eu.com

    Red Bottoms http://www.redbottom.in.net

    Kevin Durant Shoes http://www.kevindurantshoes.us.org

    New Balance Outlet http://www.newbalanceoutlet.in.net

    Adidas Outlet http://www.adidasoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutlet-online.eu.com

    Stephen Curry Jersey http://www.stephencurryjersey.us.com

    Vans Outlet http://www.vansoutlet.us.com

    Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlauren-outletstore.in.net

    True Religion Outlet http://www.true-religionoutlets.in.net

    ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardyoutlet.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlet.eu.com

    UGG Outlet http://www.uggoutlet.us.org

    UGG Outlet http://www.outletugg.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northface--outlet.us.com

    Ugg Boots Sale http://www.uggbootssale.in.net

    UGGS For Women http://www.uggsforwomen.us.com

    Skechers Go Walk http://www.skechersgowalk.us.com

    Adidas Yeezy Boost http://www.adidasyeezyboost.in.net

    Adidas Yeezy http://www.adidasyeezy.us.com

    Adidas NMD http://www.adidas-nmd.us.org

    Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletinc.us.com

    ReplyDelete

  6. Thanks for posting this useful content, Good to know about new things here, Let me share this, . ORACLE training in pune

    ReplyDelete

Ratings and Recommendations by outbrain